Structural Biology and Biophysics

 Mechanisms of membrane transport:

  • Chairs: Raimund Dutzler (Zurich, Switzerland), Irmgard Sinning (Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Christine Ziegler (Frankfurt, Germany): Localization-dependent regulation of membrane transporters and channels
  • Eric R. Geertsma (Frankfurt, Germany): Structure of a prokaryotic Prestin homolog reveals the architecture of the SLC26 family
  • Stathis Frillingos (Ioannina, Greece): Structure-function analysis of the different selectivity preferences of pyrimidine and/or purine transporters in the Nucleobase:Cation Symporter-2 (NCS2) family
  • Jessica Klümper (Bochum, Germany): A new channel for the peroxisomal import of PTS2 proteins
  • Leonid A. Sazanov (Cambridge, United Kingdom): Structure and mechanism of respiratory complex I, a giant molecular proton pump
  • Raimund Dutzler (Zurich, Switzerland): The structural basis for calcium activation in the TMEM16 family of lipid scramblases and ion channels
  • Robin Allshire (Edinburgh, United Kingdom): Epigenetic transmission: establishment and inheritance of specialised chromatin
  • Andrés Aguilera (Sevilla, Spain): RNA:DNA hybrids as modulators of chromatin structure and genome instability
  • Juli Feigon (Los Angeles, United States): The Architecture of Tetrahymena Telomerase Holoenzyme
  • Piet Borst (Amsterdam, Netherlands): The sequence requirements for base J in DNA
  • Thomas Grundström (Umeå, Sweden): Signal regulated localisation of a mutagenic protein complex at the Igh locus

 Channels and transporters:

  • Chairs: Poul Nissen (Aarhus, Denmark), Lutz Schmitt (Düsseldorf, Germany)
  • Ben Luisi (Cambridge, United Kingdom): Structure and mechanism of a bacterial multi-drug efflux pump
  • Poul Nissen (Aarhus, Denmark): Structure and mechanism of Na+ dependent transporters
  • Dirk J. Slotboom (Groningen, Netherlands): Mechanisms of vitamin transport
  • Lutz Schmitt (Düsseldorf, Germany): Crystal Structure of the Transport Unit of Auto Transporter AIDA I from E. coli
  • Nils Krause (Berlin, Germany): First structural insights in the opening of Channelrhodopsin-2
  • Alexi Alekov (Hannover, Germany): Evolutionary divergent lysine regulates electrostatic stoichiometric coupling and voltage dependence of the chloride/proton exchanger ClC-5

Protein mediated membrane deformation and penetration

Monitoring protein conformational dynamics and movement

From subcellular to molecular resolution